June 11, 2021

Bach - Beethoven

Andrew von Oeyen's new album of Bach and Beethoven was released on June 11, 2021 by Warner Classics.

More Info

Shaped by pianist Andrew von Oeyen’s experience of lockdown, this solo recital comprises Bach’s eight-movement Overture in the French Style BWV 831, Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas No 13 in E flat and No 23 in F minor, ‘Appassionata’, and arrangements by Wilhelm Kempff of two movements that Bach wrote for accompanied flute. “Perhaps more than any other composer, Bach expresses the clearest sense of order in a chaotic world,” says von Oeyen. “If Bach served as my first musical mooring in confinement, I returned to Beethoven for second-wave pandemic relief … I was now ready to weigh anchor and face the storm in the company of stalwart and indestructible 19th century sonatas. Crises, for all their destructiveness, can also lead to renewal and discovery.”



Overture in the French Style, BWV 831 [26:57]
1. Ouverture
2. Couzrante
3. Gavottes 1 and 2
4. Passepied 1 and 2
5. Sarabande
6. Bourée 1 and 2
7. Gigue
8. Echo


Sonata No 13 in E flat major, ‘Quasi una Fantasia’, Op. 27, Nr. 1 [16:12]
9. Andante
10. Allegro molto e vivace
11. Adagio con espressione
12. Allegro vivace                              


Sonate No 23 in F minor, Op 57 ‘Appassionata’ [24:52]
13. Allegro Assai
14. Andante con moto
15. Allegro ma non troppo

16. Siciliano from the Flute Sonata Nr 2
(arranged by Wilhelm Kempff) [3:53]

17. Largo from the Piano Concerto in F minor
(arranged by Wilhelm Kempff) [3:18]